Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

Newton Prize

The Newton Prize is a £1 million fund which recognises the excellent research and innovation the Newton Fund has invested in since its launch in 2014.

It celebrates the best partnerships between the UK and Newton countries, and encourages new international collaborations to address some of the world’s most pressing challenges.

The Newton Prize 2019 has now closed for applications from China, Indonesia and the Philippines and the shortlist has been announced.

The call was open to existing or past recipients of Newton funding for projects with these countries.

Read our Newton Prize booklet for more information about this year's prize and shortlist:

Key Dates

“I firmly believe that collaborations are important not only across disciplines, but also across cultures. They bring new insights, lead to new approaches and result in new discoveries.

“Scientific collaboration needs nurturing. The Newton Prize strengthens partnerships and allows the best research to thrive, improving the quality of life for people living in Newton Fund partner countries and beyond."

Professor Alice Gast, Imperial College London President and Newton Prize Committee Chair 

The Newton Prize will be awarded for the best research or innovation that promotes the economic development and social welfare of Newton partner countries, DAC List Countries or addresses global challenges; aligning with the Newton Fund’s overall objectives.

An independent Newton Prize judging committee made up of experts from the UK and the 2019 countries will review the shortlisted applications, along with feedback from expert peer reviewers, and select the winners. 

Call for expert reviewers

We are looking for experts to review Newton Prize applications. To become an expert reviewer for the Newton Prize, please complete this registration form.

Registrations to review the Newton Prize are welcomed from any country worldwide. To become an expert reviewer for the prize, you will need to provide evidence of how you are a recognised authority in your specialist field. Please note that there is no remuneration for Newton Prize reviewers, your time and expertise is greatly appreciated in the review process.

Previous Newton Prize winners

Read about the Newton Prize 2017 winners and Newton Prize 2018 winners from Brazil, Chile, Colombia, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Thailand and Vietnam.